Say Hello to Gelo

IMG_8739

 

There are literally hundreds of iOS ‘iPhoneography’ apps out there. I should know, I own an iPhone full of them! I have so many it has turned into an obsession of mine and I keep expecting to come home to my family and there be an intervention of some kind. Given the saturation (no pun intended) in the marketplace it is difficult for new apps to get noticed these days. Except for the special ones, and by those I mean the Camera+/Snapseed/Picfx/Hipstamatic/Pixlromatic etc. Then along comes Fotosyn. They release an app called BleachByPass (see my previous app review) and create something different. Fotosyn doesn’t just stop there, a couple of months later they release Gelo and anchor themselves in the top folder on my iPhone with both apps.

Gelo is a very creative app, using a beautiful, sleek interface that is easy to use and creates amazing results. You can take a photo or import from your library and begin dabbling with different colour tints and overlays. Adding a graduated tint to a dull sky is reminiscent of the traditional Cokin filters I used way back in college to add a hint of ‘tobacco’ to bring some life to a listless shot. Subtle use of this app can have some impressive results.

IMG_8740

The interface is clean, simple and easy to navigate. I love the design of the circular wheel of colour ‘gels’ that you can rotate and select one to add as an overlay, tint or shape. I have played with many different options and have achieved some very cool results.

IMG_8498This is a photo of the Edmonton skyline and I simply added a purple gel overlay to the sky, adjusted the strength and then saved it to my album. I began to experiment with introducing colour to black and white images and discovering the difference between add, overlay and tint to vary my results.

IMG_8379In this image I used the BleachByPass app and then imported it into Gelo to add some colour tinting.

 

IMG_8466This image had several ‘passes’ through the Gelo app to add varying colours to the same image.

 

Gelo also plays well with other apps. I like to create cool effects by combining the results of two or three different apps to mix up the effects of the edit. One app in particular is great fun to use with Gelo, and it is the Etchings app. It converts an image into line art with varying degrees of detail. The image below was created using the Gelo and Etching combo with subtle yet effective results.

IMG_8637

 

I can’t wait to see what Fotosyn come up with next. For now, head over to the AppStore and grab Gelo. Your iPhone will thank you.

IMG_8366

 

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Hello! I’m at work browsing your blog from my new
    iphone 3gs! Just wanted to say I love reading through your blog
    and look forward to all your posts! Carry on the outstanding work!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Flickr Photos

    More Photos
  • about.me

    about.me/andyholt1

  • Blog Stats

    • 403 hits
  • A-Squared Communications

